Things I Should Have Bought Before Baby Arrived

Now that a second one is on the way, this Mama wasted no time in trawling the web on baby stuff and information once again.  Having read a post by a fellow mommy blogger who listed things she bought for her baby which she later found to be useless, I was immediately reminded on the things which I did NOT buy pre-natal that I regretted later during my confinement, when mobility was greatly impeded.

 

1. Good Nursing Bra

I had thought most nursing bras out there in shops like Marks and Spencer, Mothercare, etc where exorbitantly expensive. I was also wrongly advised that cheap, brandless ones were just as good. Most pregnancy guides also advised not to buy them until after delivery as the breast size could change considerably when the milk comes in. Hence I armed myself with only a couple of cheap, made-in-taiwan no frills brand nursing bras, believing I could always go out and buy more if needed later. What I did not realise was with a hungry baby needing to nurse every 2 hour of so, coupled with post-natal blues, I wouldn’t have been able to shop properly for those much needed cup support.

 

2. Breast Shields

Contrary to what most books say about sore nipples from nursing, that you only get them initally and they recover in a couple of weeks when the nipples toughen up, I had mine for the longest time ever! The pain refuse to go until after 6 weeks, no thanks to a baby with a voracious appetite which needed frequent satisfying. Adding on to the pain were the cheap made-in-taiwan bras which were rubbing against the broken skin so badly that I cringed everytime I put them on after a bath.

 

3. Good Sleep Training Book

Ok maybe this isn’t exactly something to buy, but rather something I ought to have read thoroughly before baby came, and kept the book by my side for reference as and when needed. Only after 6 months of accidental parenting which produced bad sleeping habits did I learned the hard way. So this time round, I’m gonna arm myself with Tracy Hogg’s Baby Whisperer Solves All Your Problems before No.2 arrives.

About koppiemama

A devoted mama trying her best to bring up her boys - Yu & Yue - to become honorable, fine young men of God.
This entry was posted in Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment